top of page

4/21/2024 When Pigs Fly...


As I was out on the road several days ago, I ran across this driveway gate. I had noticed it several times before but I finally stopped to get a picture with my camera.


Pigs With Wings.


The phrase "pigs might fly" or "pigs may fly" has been used in various forms since 1600's, when it was said that "pigs fly with their tails forward," used as a sarcastic remark something overly optimistic.

The form "when pigs fly" is more common in the USA.

Pig’s can’t fly! It’s impossible, which is precisely what the expression means.

We say it as a response when someone tells us something that we think is impossible or very unlikely.


So why there are flying pigs on this driveway would lead me to the assumption that these occupant actually were able to own this home and acreage even though they thought it was impossible.

Someday I will stop and inquiry... if I don't get hauled in for trespassing. 🧐


At any rate... Hurray To Them For An Interesting Gate!


Nana

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page